Beautiful Portraits with Hope

Hope

A few weeks ago I got to do a fun little photo shoot with Hope. Some of you may recognize her from a shoot we did together over the summer. For a while we had been talking about working together again, so one snowy Saturday in January I stopped by Hope’s place for a few hours and came away with these amazing images. A friend of mine recently sold me his Canon 5D, so this was an excellent opportunity to try out the new camera. As a long time Nikon shooter, it took some time to get used to Canon’s layout.

We had a great time, and here are my favorite photos from the shoot.

Hope

Hope had this white dress which she really wanted to wear for the shoot, which closely matched the color of her hair and skin.

Hope_Web-18

For the shoot I was able to get my hands on the 85mm f/1.2 lens at Pittsburgh Filmmakers. It’s a crazy sharp lens that can make images with a very shallow depth of field. Heavy as well; at least 15 lbs when attached to the camera.

Hope_Web-10

Hope_Web-11

Hope_Web-12

Hope_Web-14

Hope_Web-13

Hope_Web-17

Hope_Web-19

Hope_Web-20

This whole series was shot using natural light, which we had plenty of coming through several large windows. For most of my recent photo shoots I’ve tried to incorporate flash but it was nice not to have to think about the inherent technical issues and completely focus on taking the picture.

Hope_Web-22

We had three changes of clothing during the shoot. I wanted to include some solid bold colors as well.

Hope_Web-21

Hope_Web-23

Hope_Web-24

Hope_Web-25

That’s Isabelle photo bombing the shoot. When we moved up to the bedroom both of Hope’s cats wanted to get in on the action.

Hope_Web-26

While Hope prepared for the shoot I was playing around with the 85mm lens. Below are some of my candid photos of Hope along with some pictures of her cats, Isabelle and Eve.

Hope_Web-3

Hope_Web-4

Hope_Web-5

Hope_Web-9

Hope_Web-8

Hope_Web-6

Hope_Web-7

 

 

For more updates follow me on Twitter @OCadji or “Like” me on Facebook.

Comments
One Response to “Beautiful Portraits with Hope”
  1. The black and white photo of Hope applying mascara in the mirror reminds me of this image from Richard Avedon: http://parisapartment.files.wordpress.com/2008/11/hrparisapt.jpg. He described it as a moment of self-appraisal.

Leave a Reply

