The 1s and 2s return to Gene’s Place

After a long absence, the local Pittsburgh hip-hop duo, the 1s and 2s, got back together and performed for a large crowd at Gene’s Place in South Oakland. Here are some of my shots from the evening.
Gene’s is a great bar, but like most small venues, it has terrible lighting. For locations like this, I’ve been using a new approach to my shots: If I can’t make it look good, I can make it look “artsy”. Essentially I shoot with a slow shutter speed to get blur and fire off a flash to get detail.  I used this technique at Garfield Artworks back in May.
The 1s and 2s have a couple albums out there on the web, which you can find at their Bandcamp page.

Leave a Reply

